

# Ursinus College

## Digital Commons @ Ursinus College

**Academic Convocation Programs** 

**Event Programs** 

8-26-2016

### 2016 Ursinus College Academic Convocation Program

**Ursinus College** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.ursinus.edu/convocation\_programs Click here to let us know how access to this document benefits you.

#### **Recommended Citation**

College, Ursinus, "2016 Ursinus College Academic Convocation Program" (2016). *Academic Convocation Programs*. 60.

https://digitalcommons.ursinus.edu/convocation\_programs/60

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Event Programs at Digital Commons @ Ursinus College. It has been accepted for inclusion in Academic Convocation Programs by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Ursinus College. For more information, please contact aprock@ursinus.edu.



### URSINUS DAY ACADEMIC CONVOCATION

August 26, 2016 Ursinus College Collegeville, Pennsylvania

#### ENTRANCE

#### **PROCESSIONAL**

Alan Morrison

#### WELCOME

Brock Blomberg, President Robert Rein, President of Ursinus College Student Government

#### A BRIEF HISTORY OF URSINUS COLLEGE: URSINUS 1984

Lynne Edwards '88, Professor of Media & Communication Studies

#### FIRST-YEAR ADVISING

Missy Bryant, Assistant Dean of Students Carla Rinde, Director, Career and Professional Development

#### REMARKS TO THE CLASS OF 2020

April Kontostathis Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs and Interim Dean of the College

#### FEATURED SPEAKER

Charles Rice, College Chaplain "Just One Takeaway"

#### INSTALLATION OF NEW ENDOWED CHAIR

President Blomberg Installing

Mark Ellison, Professor and Chair of Chemistry as the David Laucks Hain Professorship of Chemistry (September 2016 – August 2021)

Danielle Widman Abraham, Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies to the

Walter Livingston Wright III Lectureship (September 2016-August 2021)

#### BENEDICTION

Rabbi Michael Ramberg, College Rabbi and Hillel Director

#### VIRTUAL CIE MOMENT

Domenick Scudera, Professor

RECESSIONAL

#### **CLASS ADVISERS**

Class of 2020

Carla Rinde, Director, Career and Professional Development

Class of 2019

Nathan Rein, Associate Professor of Religious Studies and Department Chair Class of 2018

Yukino Tanaka Goda, Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese

Class of 2017

Eric Williamsen, Associate Professor of Chemistry

#### **FACULTY MARSHALS**

Ross Doughty, Professor of History and Department Chair

Rebecca Kohn, Professor of Biology, Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs

Carol Dole, Professor of English

Del Engstrom, Professor and Chair of the Health and Exercise Physiology Department

Kathryn Goddard-Doms, Associate Professor of Biology

#### NEWLY INSTALLED ENDOWED CHAIRS

Mark Ellison, Professor and Chair of Chemistry

David Laucks Hain Professorship of Chemistry July 2016-June 2021 Established in 1952 under the will of David Laucks Hain, this Chair recognizes significant contributions to the Chemistry Department and to student-faculty collaborative research in chemistry.

Danielle Widman Abraham, Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies

Walter Livingston Wright III Lectureship in Middle Eastern Studies Established in 2006 through the estate of Walter Livingston Wright III, Class of 1954, this Chair provides enhanced opportunities for student and faculty enrichment in Middle Eastern affairs, past and present.

#### SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

#### STEINBRIGHT SCHOLARS

Tom Armstrong
Sarah Blatt
Andrew Bonini
Connor De Faber-Schumacher
Amanda Galczyk
James Harkness
Broderick Johnson
Jenifer Joseph
Shannon Kiss
Connor Loomis
Madison Moses
Haley O'Malley
Andrew Ritter

#### ZACHARIAS NATIONAL SCHOLARS

Kailyn Cohen Sophia King Kyle Napierala Lauren Novotny Jacob O'Neill Stefani Rath

Kyung Son Richard Wike CREATIVE WRITING AWARD Lauren Toscano

#### PERFORMING ARTS AWARDS

MUSIC
Paige Springmann
THEATER
Ashley Thomas
DANCE
Jeniece Butts

#### **TOWER SCHOLAR**

Sofia Barrios

## SUPPORTING INCLUSIVE EXCELLENCE SCHOLARSHIP

Samantha Beck
Julia Huff
Linda McIntyre
Jonathan Monkemeyer
Danielle Pond
Juliette Reinhardt
Cailey Sanchez
Victoria Saravia
Elinor Stanley
Codi Yhap